Psychic Future’s Guide to Chakras

Let the flow of energy throughout your body work continuously and in harmony with the rest of your physical being.

Our simple guide to chakras will give you everything you need to know on how to practice meditating and exercise each point of the seven chakras.

What are the seven chakras?

The seven chakras are seven points of the body, which, once aligned, create optimum body and mind functioning.

If one of the seven points of the chakras are blocked or isn’t maintained, it can often lead to illness, making irrational decisions or can influence negative behaviour that you wouldn’t normally associate with your true self.

It’s important to understand what each chakra represents, where it is located in the body and how, through meditation, it can strengthen positivity and well-being, just like spiritual readings. Practising the system of chakras and understanding the healing and spiritual aspects of the meditative process is easy too. Many people take part in this type of meditation daily, but it can be done any time and at your own pace. It will become second nature through practice and understanding of your own body. describes the alignment of the chakras as being a whole system of personal healing: “Chakra balancing is viewed as a rebalancing of energies at all levels, including physical, emotional and psychic. The chakras as a whole form an energy system, relating specifically to a number of points or sites in the body.”



Crown Chakra

Location: The top of the head.

Related body areas: Central nervous system and the cerebral cortex.

Represents: Spiritual will/self, idealism and perfection. It also focusses on the union of definite and indefinite intelligence with human nature.

Third Eye Chakra

Location: The centre of the forehead.

Related areas: Temple and the pituitary gland. The eyes, nose and mouth.

Represents: Vision, imagination and wisdom. Concentration is also a main feature of this chakra and is needed when meditating, focusing on the present and letting go of the past, freeing the future.

Throat Chakra

Location: Throat and neck area.

Related areas: Throat, mouth and the thyroid gland.

Represents: Communication, sound and creative intelligence through sound and writing which demonstrates knowledge, loyalty and truth.


Heart Chakra

Location: Centre of the chest.

Related areas: The heart, circulatory system, lungs, arms and hands.

Represents: Balance and peace. Unconditional love, understanding and acceptance through the centre of the soul.


Solar Plexus Chakra

Location: Below chest, stomach area.

Related areas: The stomach, abdominal muscles and liver.

Represents: Warmth, confidence and self-esteem. This area focuses on the physical energy of the body and the nervous sensitivity produced in certain situations. It is the centre of human recognition.


Sacral Chakra

Location: Lower abdomen.

Related areas: The womb, ovaries and the spleen.

Represents: Procreation, sexual desire and harmony. The lower abdomen is the location at which the body adapts to new ideas and change, focusing on tolerance.

Root Chakra

Location: Base of the spine, tailbone.

Related areas: The kidneys, spine, legs and bones.

Represents: The power to recreate and the survival instinct. Courage and grounding is grown out of the root chakra and this area also takes hold of the stability and vitality in life.

By acknowledging the areas of the body that are associated, you will realise how easy it is to create one flowing movement of energy throughout the body. Visual meditation is a good technique to apply to this. Every chakra has its own vibrational frequency which is depicted through colours (see diagram above).


Practicing chakra meditation


chakra meditation

Image Credit: We Are Social (

This element of chakra meditation will become more meaningful over time as you learn more about your body.

Being in the moment will provide you with total relaxation and will allow you to focus on the chakras that need total focus, attention and TLC. Patience is key when meditating as practice, after all, does make perfect.

Here is a guide to how you can practice chakra meditation easily and comfortably:

  1. Just like any type of meditation, start off by making sure you are in an environment that is calm, relaxed and closed off from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. This could be your bedroom, your garden or a place where you can ‘just be’.
  2. Choose whichever position you feel comfortable, it doesn’t necessarily have to be sitting in the lotus position with your legs crossed and hands resting on your knees. If it is more comfortable to lay on your back or with your legs stretched out then do so; chakra meditation is all about you.
  3. Once you have settled yourself, start by taking some deep breaths. Breathe in for four seconds and out for eight. Repeat this until you find yourself relaxing into the space around you.
  4. Aligning your chakras is all about starting from the bottom up, so in this case, the root chakra. Imagine a red glow (as seen in the diagram above) in the area of the root chakra and hold it there for two to three seconds. Once the glow has disappeared, concentrate on how that area feels and release any tension that may be held here.
  5. Repeat the same exercise for the remaining six chakras, concentrating on the colour of the glow for each; orange for the sacral chakra, yellow for the solar plexus chakra etc.
  6. Spend an extra amount of seconds on the crown chakra. The purple glow associated with this chakra may turn white and this is the point at which your chakras are aligned.
  7. Take a few moments to examine your body and acknowledge how positive it feels to spend some time with just you, your body and mind.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *